Thirty before 30

So there’s this list that’s been floating around on the internet. Thirty Before 30. Basically, you choose thirty things you want to do before you turn 30. I’m one of those people who doesn’t work well without clear goals, so I figured, why not? Besides, like Walt Disney said, “this whole thing started with a dream and a mouse.”

So without further ado, I present my Thirty Before 30! 

(Caveat: I might change these goals as time goes by. I’ll update this post if/when I do.)

1. Go to SDCC.

SDCC- The San Diego Comic Convention– is the biggest gathering of nerds, geeks, fanpeople, and other assorted wacky types in the world. Plus, where else (apart from other cons) can you see grown ass men and women dressed up as superheroes?  

2.Go to an HP convention.

I spent the better part of my teenage years obsessed with Harry Potter, and I’m slowly rediscovering my love for the fandom as an adult. Who knows, maybe I’ll even make me a set of Gryffindor robes…

3. Get my C1 in Spanish.

I started Spanish as a lark, but the more I studied the language, the more I fell in love with it! I’m on a break right now on account of going to France, but I can’t wait to catch up once I get back.

4. See the Louvre.

As an art lover and a Francophile, this one’s kind of a no-brainer. Especially since I’m going to France!

5. Learn a martial art.

I always wanted to learn, but I was a sickly child and once I grew older I just never had the time. I’d love to learn, though. I’m looking at something like Krav Maga or kickboxing vs more traditonal martial arts, since I’m learning for practical reasons rather than exercise ones- though that’s a nice side benefit. 🙂

6. Ride a motorcycle.

There’s a biker chick in all of us. Plus, is there anything sexier than the growl of an Enfield or the roar of a wide open Harley?

7. Go to a concert.

I’m still kicking myself for missing the Backstreet Boys when they came to perform in the city I was studying in. So hopefully I’ll get another chance, although I’m open to seeing other bands, too.

8. Go vegan for a week.

I’ve read a lot of stuff about how going vegan is good for you, so I figured, hey, why not give it a shot? Although doing it when I don’t like salad is going to be interesting…

9. Run a 10K race.

This one’s kind of self-explanatory.

10. Bunjee jump.

I have a bad fear of heights I’m determined to get rid of. Plus, it just sounds so cool. (And scary as hell, but that’s a different issue.)

11. Shoot a gun.

I’ve always had a bit of a thing for cute guys with guns… 😀

12. Make a decision re: tattoo. If yes, get one.

13. Find my signature scent.

Much as I love Coco Mademoiselle, I don’t particularly care to spend the rest of my life wearing the same perfume as Kate Moss or Kiera Knightley.

14. Write a novel.

15. Learn basic Mandarin.

I’ve always wanted to learn Mandarin; I even found a tutor when I was at Uni, but it never went anywhere. 

16. Take up calligraphy again.

Another thing that got left by the wayside when grad school started. /sighs/

17. Do 100 consecutive pushups.

18. Be able to sing ten songs from memory.

I used to sing a lot more when I was younger. I miss it.

19. Read 100 fiction books.

I’ve been on such a non-fiction kick in recent years that I’ve lost the ability to read any fiction more demanding than Mills and Boon. I need to change that. 

20. Get certified in first aid and CPR.

Basic common sense, really. I wish they offered it in school. 

21. Buy myself a nice piece of grown-up jewellery.

/sings/ A kiss on the hand is quite continental… but diamonds are a girl’s best friend…

22. Write letters to my role models.

Because Lord knows, I owe JK Rowling big time. 

23. Keep a paper journal for one whole year.

I still have boxes of paper journals that I kept back in high school. Which are an embarrassment, but still. I like the feel of pen on paper. 

24. Post regularly on my blog for six months.

By which I mean a minimum of 2 posts a week. /gulps/ Wish me luck!

25. Do an unplugged week.

Because I need to remember that there was a point in history where people led happy and productive lives without telephones, TV, or the internet.

26. Build a six-month emergency fund.

Kind of a d’oh task, this one. 

27. do execise + yoga every day for six months.

28. Watch 100 movies.

29. Play through an entire video game.

And no, Harry Potter and the Quidditch World Cup does not count. Or Plants vs. Zombies.

30. Volunteer for a cause that matters to me.

3 thoughts on “Thirty before 30

  1. Woot, I loved reading this! You have excellent choices: nice set of pragmatic and fantastical ones 🙂 Now to make my own list.

  2. @Kals: Thank you so much! And yay to have inspired you to make a list of your own! Look forward to reading it. 😀

  3. Yay for the martial arts and the bike. Add Rajini movies to that 100 movies list, and you’re good to go!

Leave a Reply

