movie review: thor

 

 

Went to see Thor yesterday, by sheer chance. Swati and I were at DLF Vasant Kunj, and I idly mentioned that it sucked that we weren’t going to be able to see Thor together, since as far as I knew, it was opening sometime next week. Ten seconds later, we passed the DT Star ticket booth, and what did I see but a Now Playing sign for Thor? Needless to say, tickets were bought on the spot. 😀

Spoiler-filled review under the jump.

First off, this movie is GORGEOUS. The sets are amazing, and the cast is filled with prettei- Chris Hemsworth especially, and that accent! /swoons/ I could go either way on the 3D- it was amazing in some scenes, especially when the camera was zooming in on Asgard and the end credits with the shots of the cosmos, but overall I didn’t think it added very much visually to the film. And the glasses were big and clunky and made my nose hurt. 😦

I… look, I /wanted/ to like Thor. And I did, for the most part. The actors are gorgeous and talented to a person, the dialogue was well written, and the developing relationship between Thor and Jane Foster was adorably done. It was just.. well, the story felt like it was missing half an hour of character development. Thor was thrown out of Asgard because of his arrogance… and he undergoes a change of heart massive enough to deem him worthy of Mjolnir again in the space of a couple DAYS? I don’t know. I just couldn’t buy it. As much as the fish-out-of-water scenes made me cringe, with my embarassment squick, I would have loved to see some more with Thor living in our world. I mean, dude’s an Asgardian. You can’t tell me microwaves or cellphones wouldn’t have made him scratch his head at least a little bit. So Jane and Darcy and whatsisname, her boss, teaching him about Midgard? Awesomesauce.

Another thing I didn’t quite like is Thor’s thing that science and magic are the same thing. Perhaps it comes from watching too much Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, but I always liked the dichotomy that came from Tony as the man of science and Thor as the being whose very existence defies the laws Tony holds so dear. IDK.

But as to what I did like… shirtless Chris, OMG. And Tim whatziname as Loki, wow. Great acting on his part. And I kinda want Thor/Sif fic now. Also, Thor and Jane outside under the stars? Love. 

All in all, I’d give this movie three out of five stars, since while it was pretty good, it could have been great. 

 

Leave a Reply

